Brand24 vs Sprout Social
Brand24 and Sprout Social side by side: what each one is, what it costs to start, and whether you can try it free. Everything below comes from the vendors' own sites and other public sources, not from hands-on testing.
Neither tool is ranked above the other here. These are research-based profiles, not hands-on tests. Starting price is the lowest listed paid plan per month (annual-billing equivalent where the vendor lists one), as shown on the vendor's own site when we last checked. Prices change, so confirm on the vendor's site.
How this site works.
At a glance
| Brand24 | Sprout Social |
|---|
| Category | Marketing & SEO | Marketing & SEO |
|---|
| Starting price | $199/mo (checked October 2026) | $79/mo (checked October 2026) |
|---|
| Free tier | Not listed | Not listed |
|---|
| Profile | Read profile | Read profile |
|---|
Prices are in US dollars unless shown otherwise. Confirm the current price on the vendor's site before you buy.
Key differences
Neither lists a free tier, so expect to pay to use either one.
Sprout Social has the lower starting price ($79/mo against $199/mo for Brand24). The cheapest plan rarely has the same limits or features, so compare plans before choosing on price.
Both are in our Marketing & SEO category.
About each tool
B

Brand24
Social listening and media monitoring tool that tracks keyword mentions and sentiment across the web and social media. Starts at $199 a month billed annually ($249 monthly).
Who it is for
Brand24 positions the product for teams that protect brand reputation, benchmark competitors, build stakeholder reports, find leads in online conversations and identify influencers. Its case studies feature a strategic communications team and a marketing agency.
Strengths
- Brand24 lists monitored sources including Facebook, Instagram, X/Twitter, YouTube, TikTok and LinkedIn, plus news sites, blogs, forums and podcasts, with coverage depending on each platform's data-sharing policy.
- Brand24 lists sentiment analysis, Boolean search, language and location filters, an Influence Score, and PDF, QuickShare and PowerPoint (PPTX) reports.
- Brand24 lists update frequency by tier: every 12 hours on Individual, hourly on Team, realtime on Pro and above, and unlimited users from Team up.
- AI features are listed by tier: AI Insights, AI Topics, AI Events Detection, AI Brand Assistant and Lightning Search from Pro, with unlimited AI Topics from Business.
- Brand24 offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card required, and a 30-day money-back guarantee that excludes custom plans and negotiated deals.
- Brand24 says it does not use customer data to train third-party public AI models, and that account data is not used to train its own models unless agreed in writing. A Data Processing Agreement is available.
Limitations
- There is no permanent free plan. The trial is based on Pro features, capped at 10 keywords, 30,000 mentions and 100 mentions a day from Twitter/Instagram, with data refreshed every 24 hours.
- Plans cap keywords and mentions: Individual allows 3 keywords and 2K mentions a month for 1 user, and Business allows 25 keywords and 100K mentions. Brand24 lists extra keywords and mentions as add-ons at $25 a month each.
- Advanced Reports and a Client Success Lead start on Business. Smart Context Search is an add-on, and AI Visibility is an add-on on every plan, with pricing through sales.
- Brand24 says your data may be sent to third-party AI providers such as OpenAI, Google and Anthropic under data processing agreements, and lists servers in the United States and Poland. The pricing page does not state how long mention history is kept.
S

Sprout Social
Social media management platform with an AI assistant, Trellis. Essentials is $79 per seat a month billed annually ($99 monthly).
Who it is for
Sprout prices every plan per seat, from Essentials for up to 5 profiles to a quote-based Enterprise plan, so it targets social teams of different sizes. Higher tiers add unlimited profiles, sentiment analysis, an API and helpdesk integrations, and Enterprise adds onboarding, SSO setup and priority support.
Strengths
- Sprout's pricing page lists a 30-day free trial with no credit card required.
- Sprout lists Trellis in every plan with 100 AI credits per seat each month, and its help center says AI Assist features do not count toward that usage limit.
- Sprout lists unlimited profiles from Professional (Essentials and Standard connect 5), with 10 brand keywords per group on Standard and Professional and 20 on Advanced.
- Sprout lists the Sprout API, Salesforce and Zendesk helpdesk integrations, sentiment in Smart Inbox and Reviews, and Message Spike Alerts on Advanced.
- Sprout lists Enhance Post by AI Assist from Professional and Enhance Reply by AI Assist from Advanced, plus unlimited AI-generated alt text on lower tiers.
- Sprout says its generative AI features do not use customer data to train third-party models, and that its contracts with providers (it names AWS, Anthropic and OpenAI) bar training on data or prompts sent to them.
Limitations
- There is no free plan. Essentials, the entry tier, is priced per seat and connects 5 social profiles, with no brand keywords listed.
- Trellis Chat and Skills use credits: 100 per seat each month in every plan. Trellis Plus is a paid add-on at $28 per user a month billed annually or $35 billed monthly, with 1,000 credits up to a fair use cap whose size is not stated. Unused credits are forfeited at the monthly reset.
- Premium Analytics, Listening, Employee Advocacy and Professional Services are separate add-ons for Standard and above, and Sprout lists no prices for them. Sprout notes that adding profiles as add-ons can cost more than moving to Professional.
- Cancellation takes effect at the end of the current contract term, and publishing then stops. After a trial ends without a subscription, Sprout deletes account data 30 days later. Sprout's AI data page does not describe an opt-out or how long prompts are kept.
Keep comparing
All comparisons · Browse the full directory →