Live · 452 tools tracked today ⓘ Affiliate disclosure EspañolES

Get occasional email updates on new AI tools. No spam.

Snyk vs Socket

Snyk and Socket side by side: what each one is, what it costs to start, and whether you can try it free. Everything below comes from the vendors' own sites and other public sources, not from hands-on testing.

Neither tool is ranked above the other here. These are research-based profiles, not hands-on tests. Starting price is the lowest listed paid plan per month (annual-billing equivalent where the vendor lists one), as shown on the vendor's own site when we last checked. Prices change, so confirm on the vendor's site. How this site works.

At a glance

SnykSocket
CategoryCybersecurity AICybersecurity AI
Starting priceFree; paid plans from $25/mo (checked October 2026)Free; paid plans from $25/mo (checked October 2026)
Free tierYesYes
ProfileRead profileRead profile

Prices are in US dollars unless shown otherwise. Confirm the current price on the vendor's site before you buy.

Key differences

Both list a free tier, so you can try each before paying.

Their starting paid plans are listed at the same price, $25/mo.

Both are in our Cybersecurity AI category.

About each tool

Snyk

Developer security platform for code, dependencies, containers and IaC; Free plan available, Team starts at $25 a month billed monthly (up to 10 developers).

Who it is for

Snyk's pricing page lists Free for individual developers and small teams, Team for development teams of up to 10 developers, and a prepaid-credit Enterprise subscription for larger organizations. Maintainers of open source projects can apply to use Snyk at no cost.

Strengths

  • Snyk lists a Free plan at $0 with SCA, SAST, IaC and container scanning, real-time code scanning, and IDE, CLI and source code manager integrations.
  • Snyk's developer-tools docs name GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure Repos for source control, and GitHub Actions, Jenkins, Azure Pipelines and Bitbucket Pipelines for CI/CD, plus Jira and Slack integrations.
  • Snyk's docs say its generative AI features (such as Agent Fix & Explain) run on third-party models, including Claude through AWS Bedrock or GCP Vertex, and list per feature what data is sent; for Agent Fix & Explain it is code snippets limited to the vulnerability's scope.
  • Snyk's Enterprise rate card lists Code and Open Source at 1.0 credit per active contributor per day, with each credit priced at $1 and usable across any capability; admins can turn capabilities on or off.
  • Snyk says Enterprise accounts can be hosted in the US-1, US-2, EU and AU regions.

Limitations

  • Free is capped at 5 projects. The pricing table shows 100 Snyk Code tests a month, and the FAQ lists 200 Open Source, 100 Code, 300 IaC and 100 Container tests; the table cells for the other products are blank, so the period for the other figures is not stated.
  • The Evo capabilities (AI-SPM, coding agent security, AI pentesting) require an Enterprise Platform Subscription, which has no public price; AI pentesting is listed at 4,000 credits per assessment, and usage beyond the prepaid pool is billed on demand and invoiced in arrears.
  • Enterprise credits are valid for the contract term and unused credits expire at the end of the order term and cannot be refunded or transferred. The docs page on AI features does not state a retention period or an opt-out for data sent to those models.

Socket

Open source dependency security scanner; the vendor lists AI-powered risk analysis. Free plan; Team is $25 per developer seat a month (billing toggle unclear).

Who it is for

Development and security teams that use open source packages in ecosystems such as JavaScript, Python, Go, Java, Ruby, .NET and Rust. The vendor also offers a free plan and says it is free to use for open source.

Strengths

  • The pricing page lists detection of 70+ risk types, auto-blocking of malicious dependencies and AI-powered risk analysis on the Free plan.
  • The docs list GA support for JavaScript/TypeScript, Python, Go, Java, Ruby, .NET, Scala, Kotlin and Rust, with reachability analysis for those ecosystems and PHP; PHP is listed as Beta.
  • The security page says reports are stored on AWS S3, communication uses TLS, and it shows a SOC 2 Type II badge; the page does not describe the audit scope.
  • Business adds SSO/SAML, SBOM import and export, GitHub Actions scanning, AI model scanning, and compliance (for example Vanta), ticketing and SIEM integrations, per the pricing page.
  • Enterprise lists function-level reachability, 15+ SAST languages, 800+ secret detectors, SCIM, audit log, an uptime SLA and support for GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps and self-hosted repositories.

Limitations

  • Free is capped at 1 developer seat, 1,000 scans a month, 10,000 tracked dependencies, 14 days of scan retention and basic support; reachability analysis, SSO, webhooks and SBOM support are not on Free.
  • Pricing is per developer seat, defined as anyone who committed to a Socket-scanned repository in the past 90 days; Team starts at 5 seats and Business at 20, and Team is capped at 5,000 scans a month.
  • The vendor's pages disagree on open source: the pricing page describes a free Team account on request, while the FAQ says qualifying OSI-licensed public projects can request a free Business upgrade.

Keep comparing

All comparisons · Browse the full directory →

Spot something wrong or out of date on this page? Report an error and we will take a look.

10X AI Assistant
10X AI
10X AI Assistant
Live
✕
Hey! Tell me what you're trying to do, or ask where to find something on the site — I'll point you to the right tools or page.
Action completed