Snyk vs Semgrep
Snyk and Semgrep side by side: what each one is, what it costs to start, and whether you can try it free. Everything below comes from the vendors' own sites and other public sources, not from hands-on testing.
Neither tool is ranked above the other here. These are research-based profiles, not hands-on tests. Starting price is the lowest listed paid plan per month (annual-billing equivalent where the vendor lists one), as shown on the vendor's own site when we last checked. Prices change, so confirm on the vendor's site.
How this site works.
At a glance
| Snyk | Semgrep |
|---|
| Category | Cybersecurity AI | Cybersecurity AI |
|---|
| Starting price | Free; paid plans from $25/mo (checked October 2026) | Free; paid plans from $30/mo (checked October 2026) |
|---|
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
|---|
| Profile | Read profile | Read profile |
|---|
Prices are in US dollars unless shown otherwise. Confirm the current price on the vendor's site before you buy.
Key differences
Both list a free tier, so you can try each before paying.
Snyk has the lower starting price ($25/mo against $30/mo for Semgrep). The cheapest plan rarely has the same limits or features, so compare plans before choosing on price.
Both are in our Cybersecurity AI category.
About each tool
S

Snyk
Developer security platform for code, dependencies, containers and IaC; Free plan available, Team starts at $25 a month billed monthly (up to 10 developers).
Who it is for
Snyk's pricing page lists Free for individual developers and small teams, Team for development teams of up to 10 developers, and a prepaid-credit Enterprise subscription for larger organizations. Maintainers of open source projects can apply to use Snyk at no cost.
Strengths
- Snyk lists a Free plan at $0 with SCA, SAST, IaC and container scanning, real-time code scanning, and IDE, CLI and source code manager integrations.
- Snyk's developer-tools docs name GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure Repos for source control, and GitHub Actions, Jenkins, Azure Pipelines and Bitbucket Pipelines for CI/CD, plus Jira and Slack integrations.
- Snyk's docs say its generative AI features (such as Agent Fix & Explain) run on third-party models, including Claude through AWS Bedrock or GCP Vertex, and list per feature what data is sent; for Agent Fix & Explain it is code snippets limited to the vulnerability's scope.
- Snyk's Enterprise rate card lists Code and Open Source at 1.0 credit per active contributor per day, with each credit priced at $1 and usable across any capability; admins can turn capabilities on or off.
- Snyk says Enterprise accounts can be hosted in the US-1, US-2, EU and AU regions.
Limitations
- Free is capped at 5 projects. The pricing table shows 100 Snyk Code tests a month, and the FAQ lists 200 Open Source, 100 Code, 300 IaC and 100 Container tests; the table cells for the other products are blank, so the period for the other figures is not stated.
- The Evo capabilities (AI-SPM, coding agent security, AI pentesting) require an Enterprise Platform Subscription, which has no public price; AI pentesting is listed at 4,000 credits per assessment, and usage beyond the prepaid pool is billed on demand and invoiced in arrears.
- Enterprise credits are valid for the contract term and unused credits expire at the end of the order term and cannot be refunded or transferred. The docs page on AI features does not state a retention period or an opt-out for data sent to those models.
S

Semgrep
Code, dependency and secrets scanning with AI triage and autofix on credits. Free for up to 10 contributors; Teams from $30 a month per contributor, billed monthly.
Who it is for
Development and security teams that want code, dependency and secrets scanning in CI or on pull requests. Semgrep offers a Free Edition for organizations with up to 10 contributors, Teams for larger groups, and Enterprise for self-managed source control, custom CI/CD and dedicated support.
Strengths
- Semgrep lists Code (SAST) and Supply Chain (SCA) at $0 per contributor on the Free Edition, with community support and unlimited public repositories.
- Semgrep's docs list the products as Code, Supply Chain and Secrets, and say the platform integrates with GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure DevOps.
- Semgrep says AI pull request comments cost 0 credits and AI analysis (triage, remediation guidance, component tagging) costs 1 credit per finding.
- Semgrep's docs say its AI providers (default OpenAI, Amazon Bedrock and Cloudflare Workers AI) run under zero data retention agreements and do not use customer data to train their models.
- Semgrep's docs say customers can enroll in a minimal data retention policy through Support, and can request deletion of account data through Support.
- Semgrep's docs say Team and Enterprise customers can buy extra AI credits in 10,000-credit increments, and that bring-your-own-key options exist for some AI features (not for AI-powered detection scans).
Limitations
- Teams is priced per contributor and per product (Code $30, Supply Chain $30, Secrets $15 a month); Enterprise pricing is custom, and a contributor is anyone with a commit to a scanned private repository in the past 90 days.
- AI features use credits: 60 on Free (60 per month per the docs), 20 per contributor a month on Teams, 50 on Enterprise. AI Autofix costs 20 credits per finding, and when credits run out AI-powered detection scans, autofixes and agentic workflows stop while AI autotriage continues with a warning. Plan credits expire at contract end and do not roll over.
- The Free Edition does not list Secrets and has no SSO beyond GitHub/GitLab sign-in or RBAC; the pricing page lists private repository caps of 10 on Free and 500 on Teams. Scans stop when contributors exceed the Free limit of 10.
- Semgrep's docs say AI detection source data (prompts, responses, code snippets, scan reports) is kept up to 6 months, remediation data and memories are kept indefinitely, and AI-powered detection scans send full file contents to AI providers. The docs do not say whether Semgrep uses customer data to train its own models, and do not address regional data rules.
Keep comparing
All comparisons · Browse the full directory →