What is Pixlr?
Pixlr is a suite of photo editing, design and AI tools that runs in web browsers, on iOS and Android, and as a desktop app. The home page lists AI image, video and audio generation, face swap, background removal, object removal, generative fill, expand, and upscaling up to 25 megapixels.
Who it's for
Pixlr's home page says it suits beginners and experienced editors, with use cases such as social media, blogging, quick touch-ups and marketing. It also says Pixlr is free for education, and the education page says approved schools and NGOs apply through a staff representative, not individual students.
Pros & cons
Strengths
- The home page lists a free version and says it works 'without requiring an account or any charges'; paid plans are said to start at $1.99 a month.
- The pricing page says one subscription works across web, desktop and mobile, and lists an estimated monthly yield for each plan (for example, about 80 fast AI images on Plus and about 1,000 on Premium).
- The pricing page lists Premium as adding all image, video and audio models and a private mode for AI generations; Ultra adds a priority generation queue and extended high-res exports.
- The home page names third-party models available in the tools, including Flux, Kling AI, Google Veo, Recraft, Seedream, Grok Imagine and ElevenLabs.
- The education page lists a free upgrade for an approved school or NGO domain, with unlimited teacher and student registrations, unlimited saves, AI tools, ad-free use and mobile app access; approval is generally within 48 hours.
- The developer API page describes a way to embed the Pixlr editor in other sites and says it is 'completely free', asking developers to warn Pixlr first if they expect a lot of traffic.
Limitations
- The pricing page does not describe the free plan, so its limits and any free AI credits could not be confirmed; the home page is also inconsistent on whether an account is needed (one answer says no, another says to sign up for a free account).
- AI use is metered in monthly credits: Plus has 80, Premium 1,000 and Ultra up to 10,000. The Terms of Use say subscription credits are limited to the month and do not roll over, while the pricing page also says 'All credits valid for 1 year' and shows yearly totals; credits reset to 0 if you cancel.
- The Ultra credit figure conflicts on the pricing page ('Up to 10,000' vs a MAX upsell saying '10,000 instead of 5,000'), and Ultra MAX ($39.99, struck from $49.99) shows no billing cycle or concurrency figure. The FAQ names only Plus and Premium as purchasable, though Ultra is listed.
- The Terms of Use say payments are non-refundable and bar commercial exploitation of the Services without written authorization; they do not say outright whether you may use your own AI outputs commercially. AI features are provided on an as-available basis and subject to fair-use limits, even those labeled unlimited.
- The Terms of Use allow use of customer data for improving and operating the Services, and the privacy policy does not address model training for uploads or prompts (it excludes facial data and Google Workspace data). Users must be 16 or older, or supervised.
Plans and pricing
- Free: $0. Listed on the home page as free to use with ads; limits and AI credits not stated on the pricing page.
- Plus: $1.99 a month billed annually, or $2.49 monthly. 80 AI credits a month (960 a year), ad-free, unlimited saves, 1 concurrent AI generation; not all models.
- Premium: $7.99 a month billed annually, or $9.99 monthly. 1,000 AI credits a month, all image, video and audio models, private AI generation mode, 4 concurrent generations.
- Ultra: From $19.99 a month billed annually, or From $24.99 monthly. Up to 10,000 AI credits a month (conflicts with a 5,000 mention), 8 concurrent generations, priority queue, unlimited fast images subject to fair use.
- Ultra MAX: $39.99 a month (struck from $49.99); annual price not stated. Described as doubling credits to 10,000; other details not stated.
- Education: Free for approved applicants. School or NGO domain upgrade with unlimited saves, AI tools and ad-free use; some Pixlr Editor and Express access is limited.
Prices were read from pixlr.com/pricing (USD); yearly figures are monthly equivalents billed annually, and annual totals are not shown. The free plan, Ultra credit amount, Ultra MAX billing and the credit-pack price were not clear on the page. Confirm on the live pricing page.
Details checked October 2026 against the vendor's own pages. Prices and limits change, so confirm before you buy. Official pricing page ↗
Sources
This profile was compiled from these public pages. We have not run hands-on tests.
Pixlr — at a glance
Pixlr is a suite of photo editing, design and AI tools that runs in web browsers, on iOS and Android, and as a desktop app. The home page lists AI image, video and audio generation, face swap, background removal, object removal, generative fill, expand, and upscaling up to 25 megapixels.
Try Pixlr →